Today’s workout: None

Today’s walk: None

Today’s task: Give Yourself Credit

Word to the wise: Do not gloss over this step. Do the work. Give yourself credit aloud and in writing, even if it feels uncomfortable or foolish at first.

I believe this is the most important step in the first week of the program, maybe even in the whole book. All of us who are overweight are black-belts at beating ourselves up. We may not even be aware that we’re doing it! But this self-loathing is the #1 diet saboteur. It undermines the sense of confidence and control that we need to succeed. Learning to give ourselves credit is the key to success.

Dr. Beck says she gives herself credit throughout the day, even for the smallest successes! I like keeping a daily credit list, and I will do so on this blog. In the past, I’ve done it in my journal. Other methods are dropping a coin in a bank every time you give yourself credit for something, and then using the money towards buying yourself a (non-food!) treat, or using a hand-held counter. The point is to give yourself credit in some visible, tangible way. It feels good, so enjoy it. You will build self-confidence, but it will take time.

It’s very important to have a reminder system, even if it means enlisting the help of a friend. You will forget to give yourself credit! We overweight people are not used to getting credit, from ourselves or others, so it’s a skill we need to develop.

Today’s To-Do List:

✓ I read my Advantages List at least twice today

✓ I read other Response Cards as needed

✓ I created a reminder system for giving myself credit

✓ I sat down to eat (choose one): Every time/Most of the time/Some of the time

✓ I gave myself credit for sitting down to eat: Every time/Most of the time/Some of the time

I give myself credit for:

☆ Sitting down at the dining room table to eat breakfast.

☆ Sitting down at the dining room table to eat lunch, even though it was hard!

☆ Maintaining my weight (even though it wasn’t my ideal weight) for two years.

☆ Exercising regularly for the past two years

☆ Doing the grocery shopping. A dreaded chore, but I did it. Yay me!

☆ While at the store, I resisted the temptation to buy anything that’s not on my diet.

☆ Got caught up on email, which entailed processing about 180 messages! (Many of them didn’t require an answer or action, but they needed to be reviewed and filed.)

