Today’s workout: None

Today’s walk: None

Today’s task: Eat Slowly and Mindfully

As with Day 3’s task (sitting down every time you eat), when you eat slowly and with awareness, you’re satisfied with smaller amounts of food. Dr. Beck recommends eliminating distractions (as much as is possible in real life!) and savoring your meal. As I’ve said before, eating slowly and without something to distract me is a challenge. Maybe I don’t like to eat as much as I thought I did!

Sabotaging thought: “I don’t have time to eat slowly! When I try to, I start to think I should be doing something else and I get nervous. I’m supposed to eat what’s on my diet anyway, so the speed doesn’t matter, nor does whether I enjoy it.”

Helpful response: “I have a busy schedule, but that’s all the more reason I should take advantage of meal time to enjoy a few moments of quiet. It’s a needed respite for my body and mind.”

Today’s To-Do List:
✓ I read my Advantages List at least twice.

✓ I read other Response Cards as needed.

✓ I ate slowly, sitting down and noticing every bite: Most of the time

✓ I gave myself credit when I engaged in helpful eating behaviors.

Today I give myself credit for:

☆ Starting this blog.

☆ Reaching out to fellow bloggers.

☆ Working out twice so far this week.

☆ Walking to an appointment that I usually drive to.

☆ Serving my husband ice cream last night and eating none myself.

☆ Eating breakfast and lunch at the dining room table and doing my best to get into every bite.

☆ Taking the time to prepare myself my favorite salad for lunch (Greek with tuna)

