Today’s workout: 30 mins Arc Trainer; wt. loss interval program, level 2. HR mostly 125-130.

Today’s walk: Uh, does walking across a big parking lot count?

Today’s task: Find a Diet Coach

I got hung up on this step the first time I went through the program. I wasn’t ready to commit to having someone coach me. I told my personal trainer about the program and decided she would be my coach. I even let her read parts of my diet notebook. (Well, “let” isn’t exactly the word…when I showed it to her, she took it and started reading!) But I didn’t follow through. I didn’t let her read my eating diary and didn’t tell her what I needed help with. I didn’t let her weigh me.

It can be hard, and time-consuming, to find a coach who’s willing to work closely with you on your diet. At one time, Dr. Beck considered setting up a coach training/referral program, but now says she’s too busy with all the other aspects of her career, which is understandable. This stuff is hard even for the professionals!

In all likelihood, you won’t find a coach in one day, so just keep working on it as you continue working through the book.

I have 3 coaches!

• My trainer, whom I’ve asked to keep me more accountable and monitor my weight. She knows all about dieting and fitness, but nothing about CBT.

• My therapist, who does CBT, but says she can’t help me with the nutrition part. I gave her a copy of the book, and she believes strongly in Dr. Beck’s program.

• This blog! Having to report here every day really helps keep me on track! Sharing what I’m learning with others will reinforce these skills in me.

Sabotaging thought: “I don’t like to talk to people about my diet. It’s embarrassing. I fail every time I diet, and having people know about it only makes me even more ashamed. Diet coaches are for other people, not me.”

Helpful response: “These people care about me and want to help me. They clearly know that I’m overweight, so it’s not as if I can hide anything from them. I’m stronger and more confident now, and able to share my diet with people. I believe that people are supposed to help each other, and this time I happen to be the one that needs the help.”

Today’s To-Do List:

✓ I read my Advantages list at least twice today.

✓ I read other Response Cards as needed.

✓ I ate slowly, sitting down and noticing every bite: Some of the time (I forgot and ate breakfast at the computer)

✓ I gave myself credit when I engaged in helpful dieting behaviors: Most of the time

✓ I decided on a diet coach or support group

✓ I took steps to line up support

Today I give myself credit for:

☆ Being honest about my own sabotaging thoughts on this blog.

☆ Having made huge strides in improving the way I eat.

☆ Keeping this blog for 6 days in a row!

☆ Buying and giving my niece a birthday present.

☆ Going to the gym even though I didn’t feel up to it.

