Today’s workout: 20 mins Elliptical Trainer, Level 2, Interval program; 40 mins weights and abs with trainer.

Today’s walk: None, unless walking around the driveway for a couple hours with a shovelful of heavy slush counts.

Today’s task: Create Time and Energy to Diet

Time to get real with time. This one is much harder than environment for me.

Dr. Beck asks us to write down the time we spend each day on work, commuting, housework, child care, TV, errands, sleep, and so on. Then take a look how much time you need for meal planning and preparation, exercise, eating (slowly!), and completing the BDS tasks and checklists.

Most of us will find we need to change the way we spend our time, and eliminate other activities to make time for dieting. This process forces us to take a look at our true priorities. I really like one example in the book…a mom decided to hire a cleaning service so she’d have more time in the evenings for dieting-related activities. She also asked her husband for more help around the house, and decided to give up manicures to free up money to pay for the cleaning service. She had to make the decision that weight loss was a higher priority than gorgeous nails! Most of us also have a tendency to take care of everyone but ourselves, so asking the spouse for help is a big step.

For me, the change is obvious and simple. I just haven’t made it yet. I need 1.5 hours in the evening to blog and plan/prepare my food for the following day. I need another hour for a trip to the gym. Well, I’m currently spending at least that much time in the evening on TV, Internet, and hanging out with friends at a local restaurant. Eliminating the restaurant meals will free up the money that I need for a cleaning service so I won’t have to worry about finding time to clean. Between work and commuting, my evenings just aren’t that long!

Today’s To-Do list:

✓ I read my Advantages list at least twice

✓ I made and read other Response Cards as needed

✓ I ate slowly, sitting down and noticing every bite: Some of the time

✓ I gave myself credit when I engaged in helpful dieting behaviors: Every time

✓ I looked at the week ahead, scheduled dieting into my calendar, and figured out how to eliminate or cut back on some activities

✓ I delegated some tasks (if needed) to other family members or asked for help

Today I give myself credit for:

Being strong and fit enough to shovel snow—not the case 2 years ago!

☆ Being able to work out and shovel snow on the same day

☆ Eating my planned breakfast this morning even though I wasn’t hungry

