Today’s workout: 20 mins ET, Interval Program, 1.9 miles; 40 mins wts, abs w/trainer

Today’s walk: ~1/2 mi., to and from an appointment

Today’s task: Set a Realistic Goal

What’s a realistic goal? To lose 5 pounds. Most of us have what I call a “dream” weight that we rarely, if ever, hit in our adult lives. It’s a recipe for discouragement.

To avoid that, Dr. Beck recommends setting a short-term, 5-pound goal, which is realistic for most people. The truth is, we really don’t know what our ideal, attainable (let alone maintainable) weight will be. But we can find it 5 pounds at a time, and—very important—celebrate each goal achieved.

A cognitive therapist once told me, “the only reason for setting a goal is to achieve it.” Makes perfect sense.

Myself, I’ve already lost 5 pounds since I started dieting last year. Starting with today’s weight, I’ve set a new 5 pound goal. I’m using a Google spreadsheet to track my weight.

Sabotaging thought: “This is going to take way too long.”

Helpful response: “Oh, well. I have to do this no matter how long it takes. The results, not the duration, are what’s important. The sooner I get started, the better.”

Sabotaging thought: “I don’t have time to walk! Too much work to do.”

Helpful response: “When I work too long at a stretch, my mind wanders and I end up web surfing, watching a video, etc. It would be much better to get up and walk. It would renew my energy, clear my head, and help me focus on my work.”

Today’s To-Do List:

✓ I read my advantages list at least twice.

✓ I made and read other response cards as needed.

✓ I ate slowly, sitting down and noticing every bite: Most of the time

✓ I gave myself credit when I engaged in helpful eating behaviors: Every time

✓ I did spontaneous exercise: Some of the time (I had a choir practice to which I could have walked instead of driving)

✓ I did planned exercise.

✓ I set a goal to lose 5 pounds.

Today I give myself credit for:

☆ Discussing some difficult feelings and problem-solving them with my therapist.

☆ Doing my workout with my trainer despite being really tired, and having to take a nap before the workout, I worked out with trainer.

