Yes…posted on the same day as the previous post. Almost as soon as I started the Hunger Tolerance exercise, a craving for Taco Bell set in. Bad. And Cosmos or wine. So I’m doing to do the Cravings Rating Chart from Day 13 at the same time. Get it over with in one painful day.

Today’s task: Overcome Cravings

Today’s task involves resisting a craving using cognitive (mindset) and behavioral techniques (which are described in full in the book), and recording all of this on a chart.

Here are some of the lovely things that happen to me when I have a craving:

☠ Feeling of discomfort and tension all over my body

☠ Mouth watering

☠ Physical sensations…feeling like I can taste, feel, and smell the food even though it’s nowhere in my environment

☠ Crappy mood, feeling impatient and grouchy

☠ Reduced physical energy. Don’t feel like doing anything that doesn’t involve getting the craved food.

I’ve had cravings that come and go for 3 or 4 days. Four days is the longest I’ve been able to go resisting a craving for much of my waking hours. In the aftermath of resisting an instance of a craving, I feel physically exhausted…I still kinda want to eat the food anyway.

Sabotaging thought: Dr. Beck says that resisting cravings will make them milder and less frequent over time, but I don’t think that will be the case for me. It wasn’t in the past. I may as well eat the craved food and get it over with.

Helpful response: I have more tools at my disposal now, like the BDS book, my coaches and my blog. Learning to tolerate my cravings is crucial to getting the things on my Advantages List. I need to give this my best shot.

──

Winkie’s Cravings Rating Chart

Day/Time

Discomfort Level (0 – 10) How Long Did it Last? Anti-Craving Techniques Used
1/23/10

11:45 a.m.

8 Almost an hour Going to a yarn store; imagining the aftermath of giving in; reading the BDS chapter on cravings; texting my diet coach that I was having the craving but wouldn’t give into it; reading weight-loss blogs; writing on my blog; using the relaxation breathing technique
1/23/10

2:00 p.m.

4 15 minutes Just deciding not to eat the craved food; reading blogs
1/23/10

2:30 p.m.

2 15 minutes Taking a nap

──

What I learned: Dr. Beck wins this one, so far. By 4 p.m., the craving was totally out of my system. The idea of eating anything from Taco Bell was gross. It is gross! We’ll see what happens tomorrow, or whenever my next craving is.

