Chinese food…Mai Tais…just typing the words is making me hungry. The craving actually started developing yesterday I think. Could have been triggered by walking past a Chinese restaurant this weekend. It really set in this morning, just after I made a solemn vow about stopping the wine that’s really not on my diet. Aaand now I’m craving not only fattening food, but alcohol. Hmmmmm. Sneaky, aren’t you, my little cravings?

Time to dig out the ol’ chart.

──

Winkie’s Cravings Rating Chart
Day/Time Discomfort Level (0 – 10) How Long Did it Last? Anti-Craving Techniques Used
1/28/10

12:00 PM

4 almost 2 hours Deciding not to eat the craved food; imagining the consequences of doing so (massive bloating, regaining weight that I’ve worked hard to lose); reading my advantages aloud; eating a planned snack that’s not a craving trigger; doing the breathing relaxation exercise; working

──

I think I’m out of the woods now. There’s something I’ve known about my cravings for a while. Most, not all, of the time, the sooner I give into a craving, the faster it goes away and the less food it takes. For example, if I craved chocolate, I’d eat a small piece to make the craving go away, and deduct the calories somewhere else. Just a bite of perfect chocolate would do it. By contrast, if I resisted the craving, it just got stronger. If I resisted the craving for 3 or 4 days, I’d not only be miserable for 3 or 4 days, the craving would grow to be truly irresistible, and it would take several ounces of chocolate before I came up for air. Trying to resist just didn’t seem worth it.

Other times, as with this Chinese craving I had, I know I’d eat a large amount of it. It’s as if the craving is for a quantity as well as a specific food.

Since I’m now overweight, I have to admit that my old strategy didn’t work in the long run! Dr. Beck’s strategy is to resist every craving, every time. I’m giving it my best shot.

